twitter google

NYE was all about illegal strikes

For all the controversy swirling around the Misaki / Akiyama kick from Yarennoka, another instance of illegal strikes finishing the fight has been completely swept under the rug. Fighting on the K1 Dynamite card, Rani Yahya was kicked in the face on his hands and knees by Kid Yamamoto, ending the fight. At the time I just assumed that only Yarennoka banned kicks to a downed opponent. But here’s Rani telling us what the score is:

Denis: The outcome of that fight was controversial because fans weren’t certain if soccer kicks were allowed. So are they or not?
Yahya: They weren’t. He waited until the referee raised his arm, announcing he was the winner, and then he left the ring quickly to not be disqualified.

Yahya goes on to say he doesn’t really care if the contest is overturned or not (it won’t be), but I still think it’s bullshit. When you go into a cage understanding there’s certain rules in place, they change the way you fight and the way you respond to different situations. If kicks to a grounded opponent are illegal, you don’t protect yourself on the ground the same way you would if they were. Rani essentially left his head wide open for a foot to the face because he trusted Kid Yamamoto not to be a fucking spazz.

Bonus: Mystery Fightlinker Theatre 3000 : Rani Yahya vs Kid Yamamoto

  • cyphron says:

    Tainted referees?!? Yup! Pride is back, baby!

  • ilostmydog says:

    Negs for not mentioning Yahya soccer kicking people in grappling matches.

  • Haha maybe NYE was all about comeuppance

  • DannyP72 says:

    I never understood that about Japan. Aikiyama greasing up is fucking the most shameful thing ever but when the officials don’t enforce standard rules and fiddle it in favour of certain fighters (Japanese), no-one bats an eyelid.

  • Jordan Breen says:

    I believe FEG essentially said the soccer kicks were after the fact, since the referee deemed the fight ‘over’ when Rani dropped, so the soccer kicks were a non-issue. Whether that’s a convenient cover is up for debate.

  • cyphron says:

    Okay, that makes it okay then. David Heath already lost, so Sobral’s hold on him was a non-issue.

    Let the homer get all the time in the world to recover, but the moment the “enemy” drop, the fight’s over. Not unlike the Akiyama fight.

  • operator says:

    He was also holding the ropes and was able too put much more force into those kicks as well. So he double cheated before that dumbass ref even knew what was happening. Slimey little bastard.