twitter google

Machida lost but won

Nope, you’re not the only one who thought Mauricio ‘Shogun’ Rua was screwed out of a win tonight. Here’s a quick summary of what everyone else is saying:

Bloody Elbow:

The California State Athletic Commission judges chose to ignore the reality of what happened in the fight and awarded Lyoto Machida with a gift decision over Mauricio “Shogun” Rua.


All three Yahoo! Sports reporters on hand scored the fight in favor of Rua, as this reporter and Dave Doyle scored it 48-47 and Dave Meltzer had it at 49-46. Rua seemed to pull out the final round with a solid five minutes.


I scored the fight for Shogun, three rounds to two.

MMA Weekly:

It seemed clear-cut when the fight ended with Shogun hoisted in the air by his teammates, and Machida looking tired in his corner putting on his t-shirt. But when the judges’ scorecards were read, all three came down with a score of 48-47 and in shocking fashion as Machida was declared the winner.

So here’s the thing: I don’t think anyone can say this was a robbery because it just wasn’t a one sided drubbing … it just doesn’t qualify. Each round was close enough, and the fight overall wasn’t a blowout by any means. But anyone with half a brain still saw who won. Why not the judges? Is it really too much to expect judges to get these kinds of fights right? That the second it gets slightly close, it becomes a total crapshoot? Random epic fuckups are to be expected, but this was a pretty easily scored title fight. No blowout. But still.

I’m not about to complain too much. You all know how I feel about Machida and seeing him look mortal was more than enough for me to walk away from this fight with a nice warm general feeling that Karate might not be back as long as all you biatches might be hoping. Whether his troubles were because of his legs (see them icing the fuck out of both of them the entire fight?) or because of the extra pressure of being champ, if Machida wants to keep his belt past another defense, he better fix whatever is wrong because he should have lost the belt tonight and will the next time if he hasn’t sorted himself out.